Awards & Award Winners

Since our founding, our success in protecting the New River has relied heavily on the involvement of volunteers from around the watershed. Words will never adequately express our gratitude for the time and resources that these River Warriors have donated to protecting the New.

While our gratitude can’t ever quite be measured, each year the New River Conservancy staff select volunteers whose work stands out to receive an award at our Annual Meeting.

Wallace and Peggy Carroll Vigilance Award

The Wallace Carroll Vigilance Awards honor the spirit, dedication, and perseverance that former Winston-Salem Journal publisher and editor, Wallace Carroll, brought to the battle to save the New River.

Details & Past Recipients

The Lynn Caldwell Restoration Award

The Lynn Caldwell Restoration Award is presented to those who exhibit what it means to be a vigilant steward of the New River and her tributaries through stream, habitat, or watershed restoration.

Details & Past Recipients

The Doug Blatny Public Service Award

New River Conservancy created this award in loving remembrance of Doug Blatny whose energy, love, and commitment to the natural world has inspired countless others to pick up the torch.

Details & Past Recipients